Loving With No Boundaries

fullsizeoutput_3d56

My first year of college is almost over, and I’ve learned a lot over the past ten months. Being away from home and starting over in a new environment gives you a chance to experience life in a very unique way. I’ve met a lot of people throughout my freshman year. Some have just been a fleeting conversation, a familiar face, or an acquaintance. Others have become friends and study partners. And then there are the few who have quickly transformed into my inner circle.

When you get to college, you meet all sorts of people. At first, I was introduced to a TON (like hundreds) of 18-year-old girls during rush. We suffered through almost a week of walking around to different sorority houses in the blazing heat, patting each other’s sweat off our foreheads before walking into a new house for more small talk. Those conversations revolved mostly around topics like your major, extracurricular activities, passions, and my personal favorite—values (GT sorority women, you know what I’m talking about). There are still a few people from that week who I keep in touch with, and I’m thankful for those experiences with them.

Then there are others who I met once I accepted my bid from my sorority. These girls became my sisters immediately and welcomed me with open arms. We’ve shared date night catastrophes, zagels, clothes and shoes, a spring break trip, and so much more. I never expected to get so close and comfortable with 200+ girls, but ZTA has given me that and so much more.

One of the most important things that I’ve learned this year is that it becomes easy to find who your true friends are. They are the people who stick by you when you make a mistake. They accept you, flaws and all, and they don’t judge. They are the people you call at 3AM when you’ve hit maximum stress level and need to have a little breakdown. They’re the ones who are willing to drop everything and come running to you (sometimes literally) when you just need a hug. They do not choose boys and parties over your friendship. They support you and your decisions—even the big ones. They understand that sometimes you need a little space, but they’re waiting right there when you’re ready to come back. They encourage your passions and invest in your happiness. And most importantly, they love with no boundaries. Find these people. Cherish them. Make sure they know that they are appreciated. This kind of friendship is so rare. So,

To the few who have loved me with no boundaries,

Thank you. Thank you a million times over. You have helped me become a stronger, braver, and kinder human. Your love is bold and selfless. I can only hope that my love for you works the same magic as yours has for me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

