The Strong Ones

woman-1209866_960_720

I consider myself extremely fortunate to have so many strong women in my life. Recently, I have seen several of them struggle through difficult times. Some are losing a friend to a terrible disease; others are trying to understand their parents’ divorce. I have watched people battle through failed relationships, losing loved ones, and overwhelming feelings of loneliness and unhappiness. They are trudging though storms, carrying a massive weight on their shoulders, yet no matter how horrible the cards that life deals them are, these women persist with extraordinary fortitude. That is what makes them so strong.

If you are lucky enough to have a strong woman in your life, hold onto them. The lessons that these women can teach you are endless, and their love is unbounded. A strong woman can teach you to walk with the class and conviction that is necessary to face the world head on.

They will teach you to take risks. Barriers are meant to be broken, and that can only happen if we believe in our ability to fearlessly rise to the challenges that we face. To the strong women who helped push me out of my comfort zone when choosing a college to attend, thank you. Georgia Tech is ridiculously hard, but it is a risk that has paid off in so many ways already. Because you taught me to put myself out there and not be afraid of failure, I have begun to embrace what it truly means to be a “Ramblin’ Wreck”.

A strong woman will teach you to be independent. They will undoubtedly be thrilled when you bring a guy home for the first time, but they will make sure you know that you do not need to be completed. You are full on your own. Thank you to the women who taught me from a very young age that the light that shines within me is brighter than anyone’s love for me ever will. There is nothing that is more empowering and freeing than enjoying your own company. Because of a strong woman, I have the confidence to stand alone without fear or insecurities.

A strong woman will teach you the importance of faith. It is not something that we just have; it is a conscious decision that we make every day. Faith is trusting not only in a power that is greater than you but also in people, in love, and in yourself. Thank you to the strong women who taught me that if I have unshakable faith in myself, I can become everything I want to be.

A strong woman will teach you that it is okay to falter. Failures and doubts are inevitable. We are not perfect. Setbacks will discourage us, and we will experience times when we want to give up. But we can be unstoppable in spite of the obstacles that we face as long as we choose not to give up on ourselves. I am so grateful for the strong women who have been there to watch me stumble but also to help me stand back up.

To the strong women who are blessings in my life, I strive to be more like you every day. Thank you for your constant encouragement, support, and love. You have touched my life in infinitely many ways and shown me the importance of having strong women to lean on. I am forever grateful for you.

Sincerely,

A strong woman in the making.

Leave a Reply

